Meeting minimalism

I was always a hoarder. Not extreme because a was just a kid, but I was the kind of kid that could not throw out the box from McDonalds happy meal. I also saved old candy that I got at other children’s birthday parties for months, kept old magazines, popsicle sticks, stones, birthday cards, clothes that were to small, gift wrapping  and all kind of knick knacks I had found. I kept everything I could get my hands on and saved it. Because what if I could use it some day.

My parents always thought me that you only throw things away if there is no chance in hell that it can be fixed. Not that that is bad at all, but not throwing things away didn’t keep us from accumulating new stuff. And because of all the stuff I had, I always had a messy room. There was no way that I could keep a room with that much stuff tidy. I was told many times to clean up my room, but  always I gave up before I had even started or not long after I had begun. I shoved the mess under the bed and into the drawers and closets so that the room looked clear. I think many people do this on some level. That bad thing about this was that it only lasted until I opened my closet again.

Dont get me wrong. I dont think we were any different from the average danish family, but when I moved out at 19 and packed all my stuff, I had 11 full moving boxes plus all my furniture and clothes. And that was not counting all my toys that had been packed and put to storage years ago and the things my parents kept.  I could not possibly bring it all to my new small apartment, so to storage it went.

I first discovered minimalism about a year ago on youtube. Many will at first glance think minimalism is about not owning anything and so did I. But thats not the case. As I explored the topic, I found that minimalism is much deeper. Of course the term can be perceived very different, but I found the deeper meaning most appealing. Minimalism is about living a simple life. Simple in all aspects of life. It is not about not owning anything for me. It’s about having only the things you love, having more time, and having less clutter, less to worry about, less to clean, less thoughts, less trouble, less struggling, less debt. The simple life makes room for more.

I didn’t understand this until a year ago. The first part of minimalism I addressed was the accumulation. I thought about all the things I had and the things I wanted. I always thought that someday I would have all I ever wanted, but I every time I crossed something of my wish list, I would find a new thing that I needed so bad. I realized that I would never reach that state of having all the stuff I could ever wish for. There wall always be new things to wish for. That is why you should escape the endless accumulating and look for more elsewhere. And so I try to.

I think that is it for today. I might address other parts of minimalism later on.

// Peace from someone free.

 

I have made so many campfires this summer. So soothing to stare at.

IMG_20160729_204827

 

Leave a Reply

